Adventures in self publishing…

It’s been almost 7 months since I started self publishing and I can’t even begin to tell you how hard it is. It’s definitely been a steep learning curve and I’m thinking I’m slowly getting a handle on everything.

One of my biggest problems is I always feel like I’m harassing the people who follow me on my author page on Facebook. “BUY MY BOOK!” “LOOK I WROTE THIS THING AND I WANT YOU TO READ IT…PLEASE!”. And I swear I will never get the hang of Twitter. I’ve come to the conclusion I’m long winded and being restricted to a certain amount of characters is damn near impossible.

Marketing has definitely been the hardest part of this whole process. I currently live just outside of a rural community of less than 1000 people and finding new ways to market my book is becoming more and more difficult. Thankfully I have a VERY supportive husband and he’s been giving me ideas on how to expand my reach. So over the next few months I plan on expanding my marketing knowledge and researching events where I could sell my books to a larger audience. Fingers crossed.

During my research I have actually found a YouTuber that I absolutely love. Her name is Jenna Moreci and she’s an author who gives helpful tips and tricks to perfecting your writing. She’s hilarious and her videos keep you wanting more. That is where I first heard her idea of quarterly goals. Every 3 months she compiles a list of things she’d like to get done mostly pertaining to her writing. She writes down 20 to more goals and checks things off as she completes them and if by the end of the quarter she has finished at least half she gives herself a pat on the back for a job well done. So I have picked up on this habit and I’ve found that I’ve become more goal oriented in the process and I push to achieve as many goals as I can.

Here is my list for this quarter:

  1. Make posters to announce release
  2. Sell another 10 books (online)
  3. Set up author talk (Camrose)
  4. Write at least 10K words on Unbearable √
  5. Research Netgalley √
  6. Workout room (Okay this is not a book related goal but it helps me get it done)
  7. Put Cherry Bomb up for Preorder √
  8. Release Cherry Bomb √
  9. Schedule release party
  10. Order print copies √
  11. Find reviewers
  12. Finish proofreading √
  13. Post a minimum of 3 times weekly on social media √
  14. Finish yard prep for V’s bday (Yet another household task but guess what? It’s done)√
  15. Set promo price for sale in Aug √
  16. Order new promo items for Cherry Bomb √
  17. Schedule dentist appointments

So these are my current goals and I’ve completed 10 out of the 17 tasks. So yay for me! You should definitely check out Jenna’s YouTube channel, she’s helped me immensely and she’s also highly entertaining.

Anyways, I think that just about sums up today’s blog post. I think for my next set of quarterly goals I’m going to add blogging weekly to it.

Oh and by the way…

“BUY MY BOOK!” “LOOK I WROTE THIS THING AND I WANT YOU TO READ IT…PLEASE!”

Both are available on Kindle Unlimited as well!

I do have print copies available for purchase that I’d gladly sign and mail your way if you’d like!

Operation Wildcat (Amazon)

Jess Baker thought being a leopard shifter in the small town of Blackford was the most exciting thing that was ever going to happen in her life. She wandered through life blissfully unaware of the dangers that lurked behind the seemingly peaceful façade of her hometown.

Her world is flipped upside down when the mysterious Caleb Marsh waltzes into her family’s diner. Little does she know that the intriguing stranger will be the key to her survival.

Caleb Marsh is a man on a mission. He’s been charged with the job of finding the men responsible in the deaths of shifters throughout the country. When he stumbles upon a local shifter willing to assist in any way she can he can’t help but be compelled to see where the path leads. The lines between duty and love begin to blur and Caleb must do what he does best to protect not only her but the shifter community as well. Will their bond be severed or strengthened?

Cherry Bomb (Amazon)

Cherry Newman hasn’t been home in years, her successful career with Keystone has kept her away from her family. A panicked phone call from her mother has her rushing home to help in any way she can. Little does she know that what she thought would be a simple investigation turns into much more. Her brothers mysteriously disappear and she can’t help but suspect the worse. She recruits the devilishly handsome Jericho Trewes to help her with her with her mission.

Jericho Trewes had been looking for a pack to call his own ever since the tragic death of his parents. He thought he’d found it with the Moore’s but his whole world comes crashing down once again when the enticing Cherry Newman saunters into his life. Her questions leave him doubting everything he’d been told. She makes him believe he could have a family of his own but at what cost?

Contact Me

Twitter

Facebook

Website

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

