Guest Post: Welcome Sheri Velarde!

Today I want to introduce my friend and author Sheri Velarde. She has an amazing idea to help fundraise for the victims of the tragic Orlando shooting. Please if you would like to help, read her post below. Without further ado…

I have been rather quiet on the Orlando tragedy. Not because I don’t care, but because I did not know how to verbalized anything about something so horrible. Also, I’m going through a lot personally and I am not strong enough to deal with all the arguments coming from every side on this incident. (Note any political or mean spirited comments will be deleted.) My heart goes out to the victims, their loved ones, and everyone affected. My husband and I are both part of the LGBTQ world even if to the outside we just look like a straight couple.

Sitting around it is hard to imagine what one person can do in the face of such hatred. I’m nowhere close to Florida, so there is nothing I can do on the ground there. I have been hit with medical bills and vet bills and have no money at the moment to donate. Yet I want to do something, to speak out in the name of peace and love. I am an author that is what I am known for and what I do. I write characters who are gay, lesbians, bi and I am working on a piece with a transgender character. Sure I write lots of straight characters too. My characters tell me their preferences and just like in real life I don’t care, as long as they are good characters, good people. So I figure that there had to be something connected to writing that I could do.

In honor of those lost, I have decided to donate all my proceeds over the next two months (June15- the end of August – so 2.5 months) from Love at the Comic Con (m/m) and Lost Souls (f/f) to the families of the victims of this atrocity. All my proceeds from these two books for the next two months will go towards a charity helping the families. I still need to do research to determine the exact organization. If you have an organization that you think is a good match, please let me know and I will check them out.

I’m an indie author and I know this won’t raise thousands, but every bit helps I am sure and I really want to show some love, that love still exists in the face of tremendous hate.

The links are listed below. I know Lost Souls is part of a series, but it reads just fine as a standalone. Both are short and fun romances that I hope you enjoy as well as contributing to a good cause.

 

Love at the Comic Con: https://amzn.com/B01EVJS5VQ

Lost Souls: smarturl.it/puu78m

I will post updates on my blog as I figure out what organization I will be sending the funds to. Again, thank you for helping me try to help others.

www.sherivelarde.weebly.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

