Leap of Faith

anythings-possible-if-youve-got-enough-nerve

As many of you may know, I’m a bit of a Harry Potter fanatic. J.K. Rowling is an idol of mine and I would love to create something that is even an ounce as good as she did with Harry Potter. I find this quote perfect.

When I first started writing, I was doing just for the love of writing. The story was determined to come out and I was willing to oblige. I never thought in a million years, that I would even consider submitting one of my novels. I was just writing stories that I wanted to read myself.

Finally, one day it just clicked. Why not share this with other people? Maybe it’s the story that someone has been dying to read. You never know right?

Well, once you have finished your first draft and send it out to a few beta readers, you start to have second thoughts on sending your baby out into the world. Not only have you spent months, if not years on getting it just right, you have also left a bit of yourself in those pages. The thought of someone ‘hating’ your manuscript, keeps you up at night and causes you to break out in a cold sweat when you received their email.

But after getting their constructive criticism (that truly wasn’t as bad as you were first envisioning) and take a few days to let it all sink in, you begin to feel encouraged and determined. This was the step that helped me decide if I truly wanted to submit for publication.

If I hadn’t gotten up the nerve to send it out in the first place, I wouldn’t be where I am today.

So, when you are about to do something that scares the Hell out of you… take that leap of faith. What’s the worst that can happen… they say no?

Leave a Reply

