Tools of the Trade

This is a great piece of advice.

20140125-162537

You can ask anyone who knows me or rather anyone who has had the pleasure of holding my purse/ diaper bag. It is jammed packed full of “useful” items, everything from My Little Ponies, Barbies, colouring books, suckers, hot wheels and the occasional coupon (can you tell I have a toddler?). But by far my favourite items are my notebook and pen. I make sure I buy a super cute journal, just to keep my creative juices flowing and a funky pen to jot down all of my random thoughts. I have to say even though I bring them with me everywhere I don’t use it as much as I should. (tsk tsk…)

I started by writing everything in tiny 3″ X 5″ notepads that I could easily carry in my back pocket while at work. I still have a lot of them to this day. Granted, a lot of the notes were gibberish (I couldn’t read my own chicken scratch) but none the less they are some of the best tools you can have at your disposal.

So, next time you’re at a book or stationary store, stroll down the notebook aisle and see what kind of creativity you can conjure. Or you could also just let your toddler doodle… that’s always fun!

Leave a Reply

