The Journey Thus Far…

So, I’ll start with a quick run down of who I am and what this blog means for me.

My name is Megan Michelau and I’m a stay at home mom to my very adorable 3 year old daughter. But on top of cooking, cleaning, and general mommy/ wifey duties, I’ve also added aspiring author to that long list. It all began when I started jotting down the random storylines that were floating around my head years ago. I had accumulated dozens of pocket sized notepads with scenes, conversations and character profiles. They were always within reach, always just a thought away.

After what seemed like forever, I finally got the courage to participate in NaNoWriMo in 2011. Notice how I said “participate” and not “completed”? 8000 words for my first attempt is good right?

Fast forward 3 years, to the day I finished my first manuscript, Operation Wildcat. A paranormal romance that’s just over 33K words and one of my greatest achievements. I have sent it out to a few publishers in hopes of getting some interest. Now, it’s the waiting game, by the way, I’m terrible at waiting. Just ask my husband, making me wait for Christmas Day is a fight all on it’s own. The knowledge that someone is reading and critiquing my “baby” is part of the anxiousness I feel. But in the long run, even if I’m not published I will still learn and refine my new passion. I won’t give up, I’m determined to have my name on the cover of my very own book. A tangible product of the massive effort I put into giving my characters life.

So, with starting this blog I hope to keep myself energized, motivated, and inspired. I want to give fellow authors the chance to promote their books, events and giveaways. To help them pursue their dreams as well.

Thanks for taking the time to read my first post and I hope to give you more exciting news in the future.

One thought on “The Journey Thus Far…

Leave a Reply

